The Daily Deskhenge

Your daily dose of cards and crystal wisdom from the workplace.

Friday, August 5, 2011

Leave a comment

The Daily Deskhenge:

Today’s deskhenge seems to follow yesterday’s path of difficulty and annoyance. I admit I’m going through a period of readjustment in my sense of self, so naturally things are going to be a little upheaval-y in terms of what can be divined for me. But for the larger community, what do these cards mean? The spread I’m using is one I’ve taken a shine to lately: the card on the left indicates what’s working, what’s helping, a force for positive change in life, while the card on the right is indicative of what’s not helping, what’s obstructing, what’s tripping up the flow. Looking at the spread, then, how can it be that the sadness and regret present in the 5 of Cups (on the left) is a positive thing? It looks so sad and gloomy. But I’m of the opinion that it’s very important to sit with loss and embrace it before moving on, deliberately not following the modern desire to “get over it” and get on with life; it’s important to hear and understand and accept the lessons of grief, one of our most powerful and persistent teachers. So let yourself face your grief, your regret. Don’t be afraid of it. Acknowledge it, give it voice if needed, and listen to whatever wisdom it has for you. The lesson might be extremely valuable on down the road. The 8 of Pentacles in this spread might be a warning against envy or jealousy of others’ progress and success (ask me how I know that… no, I don’t have green eyes, but there are times when I might just as well have!). Take pride in your own work, in your own training, and in your own pace. Compare yourself to others carefully (if you need to at all)–after all, a little competition is healthy. But be careful about putting expectations on yourself *and* on other people. It will keep you from seeing them and the relationship between you clearly. Don’t worry about what other people are doing; focus on your own work.

Author: musesdarling

I'm a psychic empathic technical editor with dreams of becoming a superhero when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

