The Daily Deskhenge

Your daily dose of cards and crystal wisdom from the workplace.

Friday, July 8, 2011

Leave a comment

The Daily Deskhenge:

What a perfect set-up for a Friday in July! All the elements are saying, “Go play! Please! No, really, we mean it.” And I miss that about summer. I miss having days and days and days on end to do nothing, or to make stuff up, or to just run around like a crazy person until it was time to watch “The Adventures of Spider-Man” or “The Brady Bunch.” Such is not my fate at the moment: I’m a working person doing a fairly standard 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. daily routine, with a 30-mile commute on each end, and I’ve just recently begun to realize that that’s ok. I need the paychecks, I do good work, and the 10 of Pentacles can be just as much about celebrating my having and holding a job during the worst economic downturn in this country’s history since the 1930s as it is about having a block party, a vacation, or some other kind of celebration of summer. And I admit I’m feeling kind of down because I haven’t had a real vacation in ages, and I haven’t had a paid day off since 2004. Still, the Archangel Jophiel (“Beauty of God”) invites me to enjoy the great outdoors because it’s my birthright (it’s all our birthright), and the 10 of Pentacles teaches, among other things, celebration with where you are and what you’re doing, finding a reason to party right now.

So if you’re feeling kind of down, kind of like others have it better than you, or maybe that you don’t get the summers that you used to have as a child, stop and take a deep breath. Look at what you have, at what you do, at where you are. Try to chill out. I guarantee you, there’s a reason to celebrate in your life right now, just as it is, just as you are. It’s up to you to find it.

Author: musesdarling

I'm a psychic empathic technical editor with dreams of becoming a superhero when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

