The Daily Deskhenge

Your daily dose of cards and crystal wisdom from the workplace.

Tuesday, July 5, 2001

Leave a comment

The Daily Deskhenge:

Today’s daily deskhenge seems to be about choice and children. Well, choice and emotional reality and children. But what if *you* are the child in question? I’m looking at it as if I’m sensitive brunette emo kid on the far left there, looking over the shadowy guy in the 7 of Cups’s shoulder at all the choices there are available to him (over there on the right). While seven is a magical number, it’s also kind of an unstable number, struggling and throwing off sparks right and left as it urges itself toward the eight it will become. Being a child amidst all that instability sucks, let me tell you–it was hard for me, and if you know any highly sensitive kids in your life, I guarantee you it’s hard for them too. At one time or another during my life, I’ve wanted to grab what’s in all of those cups: the riches, the mystery, the wisdom, the power, the adulation, the magic, and the enlightenment, but I was scared to death of making the wrong choice, of choosing wrongly, of ending up like all fairy tale kids who choose badly: an amouse-bouche in some bitch’s oven. I feel like I’ve never really chosen between any of those roads because I want what’s at the end of all of them. And being a sensitive kid, it’s very easy to get overwhelmed, which leads to shutting down completely, to not choosing anything. Let me caution you against going down this path. Not choosing is a choice, and it’s my educated opinion that *any* choice is better than choosing to do/take/have nothing. I suppose I made the eighth choice available in this card: I turned and walked away without choosing anything, and it haunts me to this day. Of course, some choices are better than others, and some are more profitable/sensible/just plain smart than others. But even the choices that end you up in the slammer will have something of value to teach you, and it may be those lessons that turn out to be the most valuable of all.

So if you know of any sensitive kids facing choices, or if you *are* a sensitive kid-of-any-age facing a choice, help them (or yourself) by telling the Sensitive in question that whatever choice they make will be the right one, which I believe is not just a comforting thing to say–I believe it to be true. There are no wrong choices here, except not to choose.

Author: musesdarling

I'm a psychic empathic technical editor with dreams of becoming a superhero when I grow up.

Leave a Reply

